The Joint Program in German Philosophy

Hegel stamp image for Joint Program in German Philosophy page

The serious study of German philosophy requires that scholars be able to read philosophical texts in their original language and situate them in their broader intellectual, historical, and cultural context.  A student who wishes to specialize in German Philosophy therefore ought to have firm grounding in German language, history, and literature. Faculty of both Philosophy and Germanic Studies are committed to training students so that they develop working relationships with scholars in both departments through participation in seminars, the German Philosophy Workshop, and events organized by the Chicago-Area Consortium on German Philosophy. The Joint Program is also designed to help create and facilitate opportunities for graduate students who wish at some point during their graduate career to spend some months studying German Philosophy at a German university.

Requirements of the Joint Program in German Philosophy

Philosophy students in the Joint Program in German Philosophy must complete all the requirements for the PhD in Philosophy. In addition, these students must complete two graduate-level courses in Germanics (at least one of which should be crosslisted with Philosophy). Students also need to pass the departmental language exam or achieve a "High Pass" on the university German language exam.

Applying to the Joint Program in German Philosophy

The information above highlights the basic Joint Program requirements. Usually, PhD students in Philosophy take at least a year's worth of graduate courses before they can petition to get into the Joint Program in German Philosophy. At that point, they should discuss all the specific requirements and administrative procedures for the Joint Program with their faculty advisors.

Faculty Associated with the Joint Program in German Philosophy

The faculty of the Joint Program consists of two sorts: (1) faculty at the University of Chicago in both Philosophy and Germanic Studies who regularly teach courses and seminars and supervise dissertations on topics in German Philosophy; and (2) faculty at German universities who have a close relationship with the Departments of Philosophy and Germanic Studies here, come frequently as visitors to Chicago, and are available as intellectual resources to students enrolled in the Joint Program.

Selected Faculty at Universities in Germany and Switzerland Affiliated with the Joint Program

Jonathan Beere, Humboldt Universität 

Michael Forster, Universität Bonn

Logi Gunnarsson, Universität Potsdam

Johannes Haag, Universität Potsdam

Andrea Kern, Universität Leipzig

Christoph König, Universität Osnabrück

Albrecht Korschorke, Universität Konstanz

Christoph Menke, Universität Frankfurt

Sebastain Rödl, Universität Leipzig

Pirmin Stekeler-Weithofer, Universität Leipzig